Committee on Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacogenomics

Committee Events

Each year the committee coordinates a Leon I. Goldberg Memorial Lecture to honor the founding chair, Dr. Leon Goldberg. Recently the trainee’s introduced a Fellow Lecturer Series in which they host a junior faculty from either industry or academics to speak and visit the university. Lastly the committee organizes trainee retreats and other events.

Leon I. Golberg Memorial Lecture Series

Dr. Leon Goldberg is the founder of the University of Chicago’s Committee on Clinical Pharmacology.  Dr. Goldberg, one of the giants of clinical pharmacology, was best known for his work with dopamine, having played an essential role in its preclinical and clinical development as a vasopressor.   He also can be credited for methylnaltrexone, approved in 2008 for the treatment of opioid-induced constipation.  He was recruited to the University of Chicago in 1974 as Professor of Pharmacology and Medicine, where he remained until his untimely death from lymphoma in 1989.

2021 Awardee

Peter Marks, MD, PhD, Director for Biologics Evaluation and Research at the US Food and Drug Administration presented on Tuesday, October 19, 2021 at 12:00 PM via Zoom.  

Past Speaker List 1992 – 2020

Fellow Lecturer Series

2022 Awardee

On April 25, 2022, Erica Stringer-Reasor, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Director, Breast Cancer Program, UAB Medicine, O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center presented the 10th Annual Fellow Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacogenomics entitled “Precision Medicine for Breast Cancer: The Future of Individualized Therapy”.

Past Awardees

Trainee Retreat/Social Events